vegetarian borscht soup

DSCN2375Long time no see! I intended to get in touch again earlier but for some reason the kitchen gods were not in my favour and I had some cooking failures over the holidays. Well, that’s the price of trying out new recipes! Hopefully you had relaxing Christmas holidays and wonderful New Year’s Eve celebrations. Soon I’m going back to my tiny fox-borrow-sized kitchen at my University town, so I took advantage of my parents‘ roomier space (and this time succesfully!) .

So Borscht is a beetroot and potato soup, which seems to be very popular in eastern Europe, especially Poland, Russia, Ukraine and White Russia (thanks Wikipedia!). I must admit that I have never tried original borscht so I can’t garantuee its authentity. I found the recipe in a free magazine (Schrot und Korn) at a local wholefood shop and it made for a nice warming dinner (with an amazing colour!).

For 4-5 persons
800g beetroot
500g hard boiling potatoes
1 leek
600g white cabbage
1 bay leave
1-2 tablespoons caraway
1,5 litres vegetable stock
1 bunch of dill
a piece of fresh horseradish
a little oil for the pan
100g Saure Sahne/ sour cream* (the original recipe calls for 200g)

salt and pepper to taste, a splash of white vinegar or cider vinegar

directions:

Peel the beetroot and potatoes and cut them into bite-sized pieces. Wash the leek, cut it up lenghtwise and then into then into ringlets. Cut the white cabbage into little pieces.

Heat a little bit of ol in a big pot and sweat the beetroot, potatoes, leek and cabbage for about 5 minutes. Add the bay leave, caraway and vegetable stock and let simmer for 20-30 minutes with a closed lid.

Chop the dill, findely grate the horseradish. When the vegetables are ready, add sour cream, 2/3 of the dill and horseradisch, as well as salt, pepper and vinegar. Fill into bowls and sprinkle remaining dill and horseradisch on top. Enjoy!

*I wrote about Saure Sahne/ sour cream in this recipe

Kommentar verfassen

